All Hail Emerald

What better way to welcome the new year than with a brand new favourite shade?

Years ago, Pantone Inc. established the first standardised colour matching system that led to reliable printing as well as funky Pantone branded stationery and fashion. For the last few years they have predicted a Pantone ‘Colour of the Year’ with great fanfare and certainty. While critics may denounce this as a marketing ploy, it’s got to be said their colour selection is usually bang on trend.

Pantone colours of the year

Last year’s colour Pantone 17-1463, the deliciously named Tangerine Tango, was definitely still en vogue as the year drew to a close. In fact at some point in autumn I pulled together this little assortment of items available on the British high street that were a vibrant shade of Tangerine. Why I didn’t publish this then I’m not sure, but since I hate to waste good Photoshopping time, here is the collection now! My favourite has to be the beautiful bird dress, which was on sale in Dorothy Perkins for £15 but is sadly no longer in stock – boo!

tangerine tango uk products

So, as 2012 and the Tangerine Tango era is now officially ended, it’s time to embrace a new shade for the new year – which according to Pantone is Emerald 17-5641. Described by the company as a lively, radiant, lush green, to me Pantone’s Emerald is a surprisingly blue-ish tone, closer to jade than the bright Wizard of Oz green I would imagine being described as ’emerald’. But, I like it nonetheless!

Pantone Emerald 2013 colour of the year

I’ve been pinning an entire board of Emerald items recently, and here are a few of my faves:

Emerald fashion Pantone colour of the year

Find these items online: ASOS Gem Drop Earrings £8; Louche Zaza Crayon Print Dress from JOY £45; Dorothy Perkins Green cityscape dress £28; Green Pieces Green Funky Jeggings from New Look £21.99; Dazzle Dust in Parrot Green by Barry M £4.59; Hoxton Satchel from Accessorize £25; Women’s Green Toms Classic Seasonal Cord from Schuh £24.99; Thread Wrapped Ethnic Teardrop earrings from Accessorize £8

On a whim I bought the Hoxton Satchel a month or two ago and absolutely love it. It’s the perfect size, I love the way it looks, and now according to Pantone it’s also uber fashionable. Hooray for accidental trendiness!

7 comments
  1. I like the tangerine – bah to it being officially passé! Love the satchel – want one!! Your collages look so effective. Off to check out your pinterest boards.

    • Hehe I’m sure you could still officially rock some Tangerine Tango! Or an even more vibrant Pomegranate Polka?!

  2. Ha, I have some emerald green shoes I bought years ago and could never let go of…I’ll be a tiny bit fashionable again (at least my feet will be!)

    • Or maybe you’ve been fashionable all along and finally everyone else is just catching up with you?! That’s the best thing about cyclical fashion – if (like me) you can never get rid of things, at least you can give off the impression of being one step ahead! Hope your fashionable feet make passers-by green with envy… can’t believe I missed using that horrendous pun above!

      • I like the way you think! And the pun just had to happen. Someone had to say it, right? 😉

  3. Emerald looks good. It does remind me of the sea as well as mountains and forests. It is a refreshing , calming color that ia gem to have. I need to update my wife unless she already knows. Happy New Year and wishing you and your family an amazing 2013!

    • Happy New Year to you too! Does your wife blog? I’m not one for regular fashion tips, but I do guarantee a sporadic and vague mention of trends from time to time… or at least once a year!

Leave a Reply

