Insta-Connections

It’s so hipster it hurts, and it’s owned by Facebook, but there is something just so addictive about Instagram. I am not one to take photos of my food (often) or my feet or my newly manicured nails, but I love seeing the everyday ‘behind the scenes’ shots of all the super creative people I have at one point or another stumbled across on Instagram.

Quite a few of my Insta-pals were acquired through the 30 Days of Lists project, when Instagram became the only thing I would reliably update as soon as I’d finished a page (according to my Flickr, I am still only half way through – oops! That’s an update to add to my December goals list!). One of those, Schona Kessler (@schonakessler), hosts sporadic Project Life tag swaps for between 15-20 people. Essentially, each person involved makes a batch of matching 3×4 tags and sends them to Schona, and in return receives one of everyone else’s creations. It’s a fun and interactive way to swap ideas and gain a selection of new tags for scrap-booking or Project Life. I don’t do either of those things much, but happened to catch a new #pltagswap as it happened and couldn’t resist getting involved.

I sent off my own handmade tags, inspired by the Steranko illustrated Superman backgrounds and similar to those made for the giveaway, but with a ridiculous amount of cutting out and in a much larger volume! And in exchange I got these beauties. These came all the way from the US, which meant that while other participants were getting all excited about their handmade paper goodies, I was anxiously checking the post every day to find only bills and takeaway menus! But now they are here, and I intend to put them to good use… maybe my next 30 Days of Lists? March is only a few months away now after all!

Instagram pltagswap

Check out the #pltagswap on Instagram for all the details if you want to know more!

5 comments
  1. Wow . . . love them all!!! 🙂 And I know someone will be equally thrilled to get yours! 🙂

    • Thank you! I hope so… although realised that like a fool I changed my IG name right after sending them out (with my old details on the back)… doh!

  2. Alex said:

    Omg! this is so cool! I want to try project life next year!

    • Me too! I actually bought some design A page protectors, but shipping to the UK is seriously pricey! I may have to do a handmade version instead… I’m thinking business card holders?!

      • Alex said:

        I saw a tutorial where someone used regular page protectors and sewed their on pockets and such! i just wish I could remember where I saw it

Leave a Reply

