Bloggers Boogie: Saturday Afternoon Songs

Fellow Blogtoberfester little white dove posts Saturday night Bloggers Boogies over on her site every week. I’m sure the boogie feeling will hit me later tonight when I’m listening to brilliant tunes and find myself on the dance floor, but for this afternoon, I’m feeling in more of a happy, easy listening guitar-filled tunes kind of a mood.

Bright Eyes – At the Bottom of Everything

One of my favourite song openings ever. Cheerfully bleak, if that’s possible.

“We’re going to a party. It’s a birthday party. It’s your birthday party. Happy birthday darling. We love you very, very, very, very, very, very, very much.” = The words I’d like to hear if I ever fall to an inevitable death surrounded by strangers having a plane crash party.

King Creosote and Jon Hopkins – Your Young Voice

I know a few people in Edinburgh who go nuts for King Creosote, but only discovered why a few months ago when I first listened to the album Diamond Mine by King Creosite and Jon Hopkins. The melody, the lyrics, the voice, are all so hauntingly beautiful.

Dan Auerbach – Goin’ Home

I love love love the entire Keep It Hid album, it is my favourite music to accompany a wander or for listening on a train. I am definitely a Black Keys fan, but actually probably listen to Dan Auerbach’s solo stuff more often.

Plastic Animals – Yellowcraig

I am totally biased in this selection, but I love the band and this is my favourite ever video. It also doesn’t hurt that I’ll be seeing them tonight at the Tidal Wave of Indifference gig in the Wee Red Bar at Edinburgh’s College of Art.

The Postal Service – Recycled Air (acoustic)

It only just hit me that this too is a song about flying in a plane. Perhaps this tale will end better than the first. “Calm down, release your cares”

>>> This is post 27 of the 31 I’ll be writing for Blogtoberfest 2012 <<<

Leave a Reply

