Decluttering

For a while now I’ve been describing my home as a “cluttered, circular flat”, and the reason I don’t post more photos of things I make as they appear around my home is simply because it’s such a mess. My name is Debbie, and I am untidy.

Sadly there is only so much space in the drawers of the ‘spare room’. The ‘junk drawer’ is overflowing and the ‘drums cupboard’ is full of recycling. Thankfully the drums have gone to live somewhere else out of fear for their own safety. The extra table is in the garage and clean clothes are piled so high on the spare bed that if a friend ever wants to stay they will have to sleep amongst them like some kind of hibernating bed monster. I feel certain Wall-E will soon move in to my flat and start transforming the heaped piles of my possessions into neat sky-scraper-esque cubes.

A huge part of this problem lies in the fact that I hate chores. I am lazy and easily distracted. I would rather do some sketching, watch a film, surf the net or read a book than fold clothes or sort out paperwork. But a second problem exists: I have too much stuff. In Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, Philip K Dick coined the word ‘kibble’ to describe those useless items that build up and multiply, like today’s newspaper that becomes worthless tomorrow. That’s true of so much stuff; the online purchase that you maybe didn’t need but really definitely wanted arrives with its pals Packaging and Invoice which never quite make it to the land of Recycling but do love to hang out in Pile with all the other undesirables.

So I am tackling this mess by sorting and selling. If I’m going to keep it, I need to be able to use it, and if I’m not going to use it, why keep it? Some things are only good enough for the charity shop or even the bin, but quite a few of my unwanted bits and bobs will be going up on everyone’s favourite online auction site. For now this only includes some phrasebooks left over from my previous life in publishing, but fingers crossed that hopefully I’ll be selling off all the catalogue clothing purchased over the years and never returned out of sheer laziness, unwanted gifts that I felt too rude to get rid of, some of the Jane Street lane sale £1 ‘box of crap’, and who knows what else once I get into the swing of this.

I am determined to see my surfaces again. I will wear clothes from my wardrobe, and not from ‘the pile’. I do not need more than one copy of the same book. I cannot afford a robotic junk-sorter. Plus, as they say, one man’s junk is another man’s treasure. Here’s hoping there are some treasure-hunters out there.

one mans junk is another mans treasure

>>> This is post 16 of the 31 I’ll be writing for Blogtoberfest 2012 <<<

2 comments
  1. whattaylormade said:

    I’m starting to feel like you and I have quite a bit in common. I actually tidied my spare bed pile yesterday, but for some reason quite a lot of it ended up in the bedroom floor pile while I wait for the wardrobe to tidy itself.

Leave a Reply

