It’s not you, it’s me

Hey blog,

How’s it going? How’s the traffic? (insert sarcastic ‘boom boom’ here)

So I’ve been thinking about you a lot lately. In fact, you seem to have been in the back of my mind most of the time since we first got started a couple of months ago. You’ve been making me really happy. I’ve really enjoyed thinking up posts, sharing things I’ve discovered or created, becoming part of a blogging community. I love having a platform to write as me. I love the tingle of glee when I see a new comment, or a like, or a follow. I love that feeling of being inspired or excited by something I see or read and then knowing there’s a way I can pass that feeling onto others.

This has become a daily thing between you and I. Except Sundays, I’ve been posting every day. And that self-imposed daily requirement has been tough at times, but it’s forced me to turn creativity and writing into a daily habit. To become active, rather than passively observing the world of the Internet. We both know that some of those days I’ve not been at my most imaginative. Sometimes the writing is lacklustre or the photos look dull. But hey, a lot of the time, the end result has been something to be really pleased with. Something I’m now just starting to tell friends and family about. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m ashamed or anything. It’s just that finding my blog voice has somehow been easier knowing that the people who might read it don’t know my real one.

But here’s the thing. It’s also been stressing me out. Because it’s not having the ideas for the posts that’s the problem, it’s finding time to write them, get the relevant images together, or in some cases to actually finish creating the item that I want to write about. Don’t feel jealous now, but I read a lot of blogs, and some are written by everyday people about their hobbies and families and lives, whenever they have the time to share. But a lot of the blogs that I love and read regularly, those ones written by super creative people, who share ideas that make me think “Yes! I could do that too!” – those blogs are usually written by people for whom that is their job. Creating things and writing things on a blog is their job, or at least supports or promotes their job. This is not my job. I have a job. This is not it.

You know that gap earlier this week when I didn’t post for a few days? I felt so guilty, like I was letting you down. I felt like something bad would happen. And the stats dropped a little, but the world didn’t end. You were still here. I still intended to publish a post, and publish a post I did. And so it turned out that letting that daily post requirement fall was quite the relief. It let me think up other ideas, some potentially really good ideas, of things I’d like to write about. It let me focus on real life, and remember that I’m part of a real community, as well as an online one.

So I guess I’m saying that this isn’t over. It isn’t even a break. I just might be here a little less often. But in the spirit of quality, not quantity, hopefully this will be a good thing. I’ll still think about you a lot, and I’ll probably still visit all the time, because after all, I’ve learned that I enjoy this. But from now it’ll be because I have something I really want to share, and not just because it’s a new day.

Well, I guess this is it. Thanks for the good times so far, blog. Until next time,

Debbie (doing doodles)

This post was inspired by the WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge to post to your blog via email (using the Post by Email feature), touching on the subject of email, communication, and online correspondence. I figured that if I’m writing an email to my blog, I’d actually write an email addressed to my blog – we had some stuff to talk about. This is my first Weekly Writing Challenge but I enjoyed that it incorporated both post inspiration and a technical challenge – I’ve never posted by email before or used the shortcodes, but it turned out to easier than expected.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

