Fictional Places I’d Like to Live

debbiedoesdoodles Fictional Places to live

Two Thirty Days of Lists posts in a row shows that this idea of list prompts is really good for inspiration! Yesterday’s list was ‘fictional places I’d like to live’ and there almost seemed too many to choose from. So, in no particular order, the shortlist is:

1. Metropolis

Definitely the DC Comics version, rather than the Fritz Lang imagining. As I child I was totally obsessed with Superman, and proudly wore the outfit (meant to be worn by little boys and not pigtail having girls like me) anywhere I was allowed. As a teenager I kissed posters of Dean Cain from The New Adventures. And as an adult I still have Superman nick nacks and feel a sense of attachment to the Man of Steel. So, naturally, if I lived in Superman’s world, I would live near the big guy himself, just in the hope of catching a glimpse.

Similar place I would not like to live: Although apparently within driving distance of each other, I would not like to live in Gotham. Way, way darker. Way more violent.

2. The Magic Faraway Tree

The Faraway Tree books by Enid Blyton are probably one of my favourite series of children’s books ever written. As if the everyday lives of Moon-Face and Silky the fairy, with their ridiculous neighbours Saucepan Man, Dame Washalot, Mr. Watzisname and the Angry Pixie, wasn’t enough, adding to the excitement is the prospect of magical lands that arrive at the top of the tree. I could fill this whole list with lands I’d like to live in: the Land of Do-as-you-please; the Land of Tea Parties; the Land of Goodies; the Land of Marvels… the list goes on.

Similar places I would not like to live: The Land of Topsy Turvy; the Land of Tempers; the Land of Dame Slap

3. Dorne, Westeros

Dorne is the most southerly kingdom that makes up the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros, the land of the Song of Ice and Fire books and Game of Thrones series. As a large peninsula to the south of King’s Landing, a mountain range and a rebellious attitude meant that Dorne was the only kingdom not to fall to Aegon the Conqueror in the Targaryen grab for power, but was incorporated into the kingdom later through marriage. Thanks to the Rhoynish traditions prevalent amongst the Dornish, they practise equal primogeniture, which means the eldest child inherits the title even if she’s female. Which would be nice.

Dorne is hot and water is scarce, but trading with the Summer Isles makes Dorne the least dependent on the unreliable and war ravaged economy of Westeros. And being hot might not be a bad thing, since we all know that Winter is coming.

Similar place I would not like to live: The Wall. Luckily as a female I wouldn’t be allowed to take the black, but even as someone who lives in Scotland, the Wall is just too cold for me. I think I could handle Winterfell, but in times of strife in Westeros, I’d rather hide somewhere inconspicuous.

4. Do As You’re Told

Parental instructions lost their edge once they became associated with the bizarrely adorable creatures living in the land of Do As You’re Told, home of animated series Stoppit and Tidyup. The eponymous characters were the most unlikely of friends – the excitable Stoppit lived in what looked like a landfill site, while more serene and house proud Tidyup loved to tend his garden of giant gherkins. I loved the two bees, Beehave and Beequiet, the overconfident Clean Your Teeth, the messy Comb Your Hair and mischievous Eat Your Greens. Go and Play with his giant white shorts was always a little creepy, and the villain of the series, the big bad I Said NO and his pet Not Now were quite alarming as a small child, but watching them again as an adult, as I have been known to do, is brilliantly entertaining thanks to Terry Wogan’s hilarious narration and the complete absurdity of the storylines. I could definitely live with these strange neighbours in the land of Do As You’re Told, perhaps in the Valley of the Sit Downs, although the language of calls and squeaks would take some time to master.

Similar place I would not like to live: The ancient castle of Trapdoor, the claymation series made by the same producers of Stoppit and Tidyup, was the home of many a monster of varying ferocities.  I’ll take the advice of the theme song and “Stay away from that trapdoor, ‘Cos there’s something down there….”

5. Hogsmeade

Butter beer, Honeydukes, a joke shop… I think Hogsmeade satisfies every requirement for a wizarding way of life. And as the weekend destination of choice for wizards all around britain, not only is there good food and drink, but everyone there is in the best of moods!

Similar place I would not like to live: Hogwarts sounds exciting, with the grand hall and banquets and moving staircases and Quidditch and Hagrid and all, but if I haven’t made it clear above, I’m really not one for danger. And [spoiler alert] if Dumbledore can die, no pupil is safe.

6. Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory

Rivers of chocolate! Ooompa-Loompas! Singing, magic, mayhem and treats! While it’s true that many of the children who visited Willy Wonka’s factory suffered not so nice fates, they were the naughty children. Only the naughty children break the rules or steal or sneak. I would naturally be a very good girl and live a contented life amongst the Oompa-Loompas in the sweetie trees.

Similar place I would not like to live: The Giant Peach. I don’t like confined spaces, I don’t like insects.

7. Galactica

Space travel was never so dramatic as when aboard the Battlestar Galactica. Not only is the ship and civilian fleet travelling with it running for their lives from the warring cylons, they are also desperately searching for a new home which is possibly their old home, unknowing of the enemy embedded within their ranks. As the centre of the action and excitement Galactica is a dangerous place to be, but it’s also got the best defences, most interesting people, and most importantly a bar. And yes, Cloud 9 would be so much more luxurious, but [spoiler alert] it’s also got too many explosions by nuclear warheads for my liking (which is one, because one is all it takes).

Similar place I would not like to live: The Pegasus. I would rather live forever on New Caprica, or   to have been wiped out by the cylons on one of the twelve Colonies.

8. Wonderland

So much nonsense and lots of tea parties while wearing funny hats. Sounds lovely.

Similar place I would not like to live: Narnia. Love the talking animals, but the risk of permanent winter doesn’t appeal. Even factoring in the Turkish Delight.

Other fictional places I would not like to live: District 12 of The Hunger Games (not enough food, too much dictatorship), anywhere in Middle Earth (too much Sauron, not enough japes – perhaps with the exception of The Shire, which does seem pretty fun), District 9 of District 9 (too many catfood craving aliens), The Island (what is a smoke monster anyway?), Arrakis from Dune (too much sand, too many sandworms), the American Arctic research station (too much Thing) and Fantasia from The Neverending Story (too much Nothing).

Thirty Days of Lists is a challenge to journal something every day to create a snapshot of your life over the course of a month. Click here to see all my posts on the subject and please leave a comment if you have any thoughts, suggestions, or tips for UK craft stockists. You can also keep up with my 30 Days of Lists activities via Flickr, Instagram or Pinterest.

7 comments
  1. I don’t know. The Pegasus might be kind of exciting if you could get on Admiral Cain’s good side. But I’d always be afraid that I’d slip up and accidentally tell her how awful her bangs are…

    • It would still be cool in that you would still be on a Battlestar, but what if you discovered you were unknowingly a cylon? Eeeesh bad times.

      • You’re absolutely right, of course; I’m just being argumentative because I wanted somebody to talk to me about BSG 🙂

  2. Tanya Rawat said:

    The Magic Faraway Tree has by far got to be my most favourite book by Enid Blyton. Ah, good times 🙂

    • It really is so good! I still occasionally read it as an adult. It’s changed a little now though – Jo, Bessie, Fanny and cousin Dick have become Joe, Beth, Frannie and Rick. And Dame Slap is Dame Snap! But it’s still got the same old magic.

Leave a Reply

