Thirty Days of Lists

It’s about a month in, and I’m loving blogging. I’m still finding my style and my voice, but I’m forming a better idea of what I want to get out of writing it. I revised my ‘About Me’ recently and struggled to capture exactly what I’m writing about here – this blog covers so many categories because my life involves all of those different activities. But I don’t think that’s a bad thing – this blog is a melting pot of interests and activities that reflect my actual life. And right now that’s ok.

The part that stands out for me though is ‘adding more creativity into everyday activities’. That is truly a major motivation in doing this. I want to be a creative blogger, who blogs about creative things. And I recently discovered 30 Days of Lists, which I suspect will help me do just that.

The idea behind 30 Days of Lists is to journal something every day to create a snapshot of your life over the course of a month – in this case, September. There are daily prompts and there’s no wrong way to do it. I’ve been pinning other people’s journals from this and previous months and I love how creative some people have been with their lists. I don’t scrapbook or do Project Life, yet somehow accumulate fancy papers, embellishments and stamps like they’re going out of fashion. So I’ve got myself a whole set of tools ready for the beginning of September!

As a journal I’ll be using a minibook by Elise Blaha. It is jam packed with gorgeous patterned papers and cards. I bought it a couple of months ago and have been itching to find a good project to fill it up.

In many ways, signing up for thirty days of lists was a bad idea. I’m starting an eight week e-course next week that I really want to focus on. I have a big family wedding mid-September. Work promises to be busier than ever and I’m supposed to be training for a 5k that takes place at the beginning of October. But this is going to force me to take a little time every day to be creative. Which might just start a habit of creativity that’s hard to break. Fingers crossed.

4 comments
  1. Alex said:

    Eep! Found you through 30 days of lists! Can’t wait to see how your lists turn out!

  2. Hi Alex! Thanks for visiting – I like the little community building up around 30 days of lists… and we’re just getting going!

  3. Kam said:

    This is an awesome post! I love the image you used to show off your supplies!

    • Thanks Kam! It took me sooooo much longer to create than it should have! And after just decorating the cover of my minibook, that desktop is nowhere near as tidy. I dread to think what it will look like after 30 days of making things!

Leave a Reply

