Clipboard pinboards organise everything

The ingredients

I’ve wanted to use clipboards to organise my paperwork ever since seeing Elise Blaha Cripe’s post showing how she uses multiple A4 clipboards to organise her office/craft space. They look awesome and they’re super practical.

In a rented flat I can’t really go around drilling holes in the wall to put up the ten or so clipboards that I’d really like to, but I did have a couple of picture hooks with pictures I wasn’t so keen on. To make the most of the limited space I used A3 clipboards, but after James suggested he’d rather have a pinboard, I decided to combine the two to make the prettiest clipboard pinboards I’ve ever seen.

I covered the clipboards with washi tape and then stuck the cork coasters on using super strong UHU. In hindsight, I could have coordinated the washi tape colours a little better, perhaps repeating some colours and patterns a bit more. But hey, I like that it looks busy and can always adjust in future! It’s also worth considering the weight distribution of the clipboards as I stupidly discovered that of course fixing all of your cork coasters to one side will prevent the clipboard from ever hanging straight, at least without a lot of white tack and painter’s tape.

At this point I felt satisfied that I had created a handy tool for organising postcards, tickets, and paperwork requiring further action or tidying away. But something was missing. And then I remembered seeing very cool and colourful button pins on Present & Correct and decided to have a crack at making some myself using the giant tub of buttons I’d bought  ‘just in case’ and some 99p drawing pins (‘thumb tacks’ for Americans) from the corner shop. The glue got everywhere and there are definitely optimal pins (the flatter the back the better) as well as optimal buttons (with an indented centre that fits around the pin). The resulting button pins look bright and cheerful, and could be co-ordinated around a colour scheme or style for a specific project in future by being selective with the button choices. I don’t know how long they’ll last, but they’ve been in use in my home for a little over a month with no casualties to date, and I love them.

debbiedoesdoodles | Two clipboard pinboards

debbiedoesdoodles | clipboard pinboard detail 1

debbiedoesdoodles | clipboard pinboard detail 2

Some details: the photostrips were created using one of my favourite apps, IncrediBooth, which takes super flattering photobooth style photos using four different filters. Somehow I downloaded this app when it was free – it’s now £0.69 but I’d say well worth it. The ‘YES I love you’ postcard can be found all around Amsterdam, I sent it to James last month on a visit over to Laura. The lovely silver and white gift tag is a novel ‘save the date’ wedding invite, and the ‘ONE YEAR’ red mini photobook is packed full of photos from the first year of our relationship, and came from PhotoBox.

4 comments
  1. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest
    you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.

    I wish to read more things about it!

Leave a Reply

