To Blogum… and beyond!

After all that chat about colours and font and making this my own, I realised that what I actually wanted was a fairly simple blog theme which could be customised as my mood fancied. I’m also naturally tight and thus don’t really like to spend money on something I feel like I could do myself.

So after some tinkering with themes, I’m now using Blogum, which is described as “a clean and minimalist theme that allows your reader to focus on your content”. It uses a simple font, Helvetica Neue, and doesn’t include lots of extra embellishments. The nice folks at WordPress have a demo Blogum blog and links to a few nice blogs using the theme – my favourite being ‘b for bonnie‘, which uses such crisp photography that is definitely complimented by the simplicity of the blog style. I’ve also recently stumbled upon Southwarkbear and love the header – similar(ish) to the doodlesome madness I’m currently planning for my own…

The specs:

  1. The maximum content width is 545 pixels.
  2. Full-width layout: The main column is 785 pixels.
  3. The maximum sidebar width is 225 pixels.
  4. The header image is 945 pixels wide and 150 pixels high.
  5. The maximum width for images on attachment pages is 785 pixels.

The great thing about WordPress is that it’s so customisable. The features of Blogum include customisable menu, header, sidebar, but much more is possible thanks to the wonders of the World Wide Web and some kind people sharing their knowledge.

The official WordPress forums provide great advice on specific issues, and this site provides some really handy tips for changing the formatting of the blog title (or removing it completely):

http://wpbtips.wordpress.com/2011/08/10/customizing-blog-title-in-blogum/

I’m pretty keen to try out the styling feature for Header 6, which allows you to display part of your content (145px wide) outside of the main column. This may take a few attempts.

So, the title of this blog post was a total lie since really it is only about Blogum. But ‘To Blogum… and then really that’s it because there’s nothing else to report about the blog at this particular moment’ was not as catchy.

3 comments
  1. HI Debbie,
    I love your blog! The buttons on your right side are they simply pictures or have you coded something? They are gorgeous! I am not so happy with the customisation options in wordpress.com yet, maybe I just have not found out how to use it right. For example I do not understand how bforbonnie has made her central colomn bigger?! I suppose she hosts the blog herself with wordpress.org… Still a big strange world to me…
    All the best, Kristina

    • Thank you Kristina! I ran through how I customised my appearance in a little detail here: https://debbiedoesdoodles.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/debbie-does-doodles-2-0/ but in brief: the sidebar buttons (including the text) are indeed images, which I uploaded separately into my media library and then made clickable using a text widget. There’s a handy link in that post which talks you through how to do that for WordPress – but if you have any problems let me know! I don’t pay for the css upgrade personally, and am happy with the customisation I can do using just widgets and html. But I do see funky things being done by people who have! I’m pretty sure b for bonny has the css upgrade (she uses a simple text header but in a non-standard blogum font) but I think maybe she just formats all her posts as ‘full-width layout’? I’ve not yet tried that feature yet but will have to give it a whirl soon. There are of course other themes available which have a wider post width by default – for me I liked blogum’s simplicity and the font, but for your lovely food photos maybe a wider format would show them off all the better!

  2. Thank you so much for all the tips, I will have to try the image buttons! I think the full-width layout only works for pages, not for posts but I will keep searching.

Leave a Reply

